Nominations for Eagle Awards announced

On Sunday 15 July at 7pm the wealth of amateur theatre talent in Derby, and surrounding towns and villages, will be celebrated once again this year at Derby Theatre through The Eagle Awards 2018.

Derby is fortunate to have one of the country’s largest and most vibrant Amateur Theatre communities and awards, of a beautiful Eagle designed exclusively by Royal Crown Derby, will be presented to individuals who have excelled in key areas. Amateur translates as ‘for the love of it’ and The Eagle Awards celebrate, promote and recognise this love and the wonderful array of theatre it produces each year.

Caroline Barth (Head of Learning, Derby Theatre and Eagles coordinator) said: “Once again, we have seen an amazing array of shows and judging has been extremely tough!

This year, for the awards evening itself, we have consulted with the participants and we are going to try something new: we have invited the companies to offer up extracts of their work, so thank you to those who have responded. We are in for a real treat all round!” 

The nominations for 2018 include:

The Derby Telegraph Award for BEST PRODUCTION
Quarndon Amateur Dramatics Society Don’t Dress For Dinner Belper Players Billy Liar
Fourblokes Theatre Company Cool Hand Luke
Locko Amateur Dramatic Society Straight & Narrow

The Malcolm Sircom Award for BEST PANTOMIME
The Watson Players Rapunzel
The Enfield Players Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves
Drama Incorporated Aladdin
Little Eaton Players Aladdin

The Gordon Bewley Award for BEST PRODUCTION OF A MUSICAL
Beeston Musical Theatre Group Spamalot
Gatepost Theatre Company The Who’s TOMMY
The Cast Pippin
Kristian Thomas Company Footloose  

The Timothy Dalton Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PLAY
Marie Stone in Straight and Narrow Locko Amateur Dramatic Society
Rob Hodkinson in Wryd Sisters The Marlowe Players
Josh Hayes in Cool Hand Luke Fourblokes Theatre Company
Mik Horvath in Billy Liar Belper Players

The Phil Treece Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PANTOMIME Stephanie Ashford in Snow White Chellaston Players
Fraser Morton in Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves The Enfield Players
Natasha Cartwright in Aladdin Drama Incorporated
Richard Kirkland in Aladdin Little Eaton Players T

Tom Simpson in Footloose Kristian Thomas Company
Sian Scattergood in Pippin The Cast
Kirsty Vastenavondt in Avenue Q Gatepost Theatre Company
George Mercer in Pippin The Cast

The Jo Davison Award for BEST NEWCOMER
Chris Collington (Director of The Who’s TOMMY) Gatepost Theatre Company
Rebecca Pearcy (Director of Sister Act) Belper Musical Theatre
Beth Yearsley (Director of Jekyll & Hyde) Beeston Musical Theatre
Jo Homer (Director of Funny Money) The Nods Theatre Company 

The Brian Glazebrook Award for OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT
Flying High Flying High Gang Show (Production)
The Cast Pippin (Chris Collington for Direction)
The Nods Theatre Company Old Actors Never Die (Sheila Sly for learning lines in two weeks)
Long Eaton Operatic Society Whistle Down The Wind (Fluidity of scene changes)

The Eagles’ Judges Award for The Best Contribution by a Young Person Harrison Ince in The Who’s TOMMY Gatepost Theatre Company
All the cast of children in Whistle Down the Wind Long Eaton Operatic Society Katherine Haywood Brown in Aladdin Drama Incorporated
Lily Osvath in Snow White Chellaston Players 

The Ken and Barbara Pipes Award for Exceptional Contribution to amateur theatre will also be presented, and announced, on the evening. 

Presenters and acts who will perform on the evening will be announced in due course. 

All tickets for The Eagle Awards 2018 are £10, concessions £8. For more information and 

to book tickets call the Derby Theatre Box Office on 01332 593939 or book online at