2015 Eagle Award nominations announced

derby theatre logo
The nominations for the 2015 Eagle Awards are:

The Derby Telegraph Award for BEST PRODUCTION: Belper Players Amateur Dramatic Society The Diary of Anne Frank; Derby Shakespeare Theatre Company A Midsummer Night’s Dream; The Marlowe Players Present from the Past and Four Blokes Theatre Company The History Boys.

 The Malcolm Sircom Award for BEST PANTOMIME: The Watson Players Cinderella; Chellaston Players The Three Musketeers; The Enfield Players Babes in the Wood and Mickleover Players Dick Whittington 

The Gordon Bewley Award for BEST PRODUCTION OF A MUSICAL: Derby Gilbert & Sullivan Company The Music Man; Belper Musical Theatre Company Kiss Me Kate; Good Companions Stage Society Oklahoma and Streetlight Theatre Company Sweeney Todd.

The Timothy Dalton Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PLAY: Matthew Shepherd as Bottom in A Midsummer Night’s Dream Derby Shakespeare Theatre Company; Rick Law as Brian Runnicles in No Sex Please We’re British The Marlowe Players; Thomas Farthing as Stephen Irwin in The History Boys Four Blokes Theatre Company and Wendy Beric as Rachael in Present from the Past The Marlowe Players.

The Phil Treece Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A PANTOMIME: Montogomery Ashford in The Three Musketeers Chellaston Players; Tim Booth in Dick Whittington Mickleover Players; Richard Kirkland in Treasure Island Kaleidoscope Players and Patricia Church in Cinderella Watson Players.

The Gwen Taylor Award for BEST PERFORMANCE IN A MUSICAL: Ben Jones in Rent Centre Stage Theatre Arts; Chris Grantham in Kiss Me Kate Belper Musical Theatre Company; Andy Quin in Oklahoma Good Companions Stage Society and Adrian Redfern in The Wizard of Oz Central Operatic Society.

The Jo Davison Award for BEST NEWCOMER: Joshua Robinson Watson Players; Oliver Turner Four Blokes Theatre Company; Sam Hempsall Kaleidoscope Players and Joseph Riley Four Bokes Theatre Company.

The Brian Glazebrook Award for OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT: Belper Musical Theatre Kiss Me Kate (for highly versatile set and moving fountain); Streetlight Theatre Sweeney Todd (for barber’s chair and set); Chellaston Players The Body (for script adaptation) and Erewash Musical Society South Pacific (for choreography).

The Eagles’ Judges Award for The Best Contribution by a Young Person: Ollie Wilson (in The Body) Chellaston Players; Matthew Seddon (in The Body) Chellaston Players; Hugo Carter (in The Music Man) Derby Gilbert & Sullivan  and Brianna Undy (in The Diary of Anne Frank) Belper Players.

The Ken and Barbara Pipes Award for Exceptional Contribution to amateur theatre will also be presented on the evening.

The awards will be presented at Derby Theatre on July 19.

Good luck everyone.