Festival Fringe award winners

Layout 1The winners of the 2014 Buxton Festival Fringe Awards were announced at a special ceremony on Sunday afternoon at the close of this year’s mammoth event.

The nominations and the winners were:



Bulletproof Jest (The Dead Secrets) – AWARD

When Magic & Science Collide 2.0 (Oliver Meech)
Shakespearience (Three’s Company)


Scott Bennett (About a Roy)
Nathan Cassidy (Date of Death) – AWARD
Ruth E Cockburn (Toast with Ruth E Cockburn)
Roland Gent (Do You Remember Rock ‘n’ Roll Radio?)
Samantha Mann (Stories about Love, Death and a Rabbit)


No Frills (Dotdotdot Flamenco Company) – AWARD
The Remarkable Case of You (Brick Wall Ensemble)


Short Film Competition Open Shorts 2014 (Buxton Film) – AWARD

For Families

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Box Tale Soup) – AWARD
Around the World in 80 Days by Tom Crawshaw (REC Youth Theatre)
Hans my Hedgehog (Anna Beecher)
The Theo the Mouse Show (Dreamshed Theatre)
Tiny! Wildness (stone & water)


Large Ensemble

Amaretti Chamber Orchestra – AWARD
High Peak Orchestra

Small Ensemble – World Music

CLOUDS Harp Quartet (Harp Quartet Concert) – AWARD
Mart Rodger (Mart Rodger Manchester Jazz)
Sovereign Saxophone Octet (A Bicentennial of Sax)

Small Ensemble – Classical Tradition

Rachel Johnson & Jemima Palfreyman (Flute & Piano Recital) – AWARD
K’antu Ensemble (Dancing & the Divine)
Partita (20th Anniversary Buxton Fringe Concerts)
Duncan Reid & Jonathan Ellis (Violin & Piano Recital)

Instrumental Performance

Miriam Brown (Cello, High Peak Orchestra)
Jonathan Ellis (Piano) – AWARD
Rachel Johnson (Flute)
Louise Thompson (Harp)
Mark Cartwright (Piano)
David Youngs (Acoustic guitar)

Vocal Performance

Laura Monaghan – AWARD
Jane McNeil

Spoken Word

Mark Twain’s the Diaries of Adam & Eve (Bern & Betsy Budd)
Word Wizards’ Free Fringe (Word Wizards Community Writers) – AWARD

Street Theatre

The Shakespeare Jukebox (Buxton Drama League) – AWARD



Caroline (Buxton Drama League)
First Class (Aulos Productions & Relief Theatre)
Godfrey’s Last Stand (Talking Stock Productions)
Over the Garden Fence (Haylo Theatre)
Shrew (Ami Jones)
Sticky Labels (Lady Parts Theatre)
Swan Canaries (Arletty Theatre) – AWARD
The Woman on the Bridge (Wireless Theatre)

Young Drama

Blue Remembered Hills (REC Youth Theatre) – AWARD
Crossroads (CHS Youth Theatre Company)
Les Miserables (Schools’ edition) (Mad Hatters Music)
Trail by Jury (PB Theatricals Youth Theatre)

Actor – Female

Rebecca Fenwick (The Wake)
Ami Jones (Shrew) – AWARD
Ioana Voisei (Caroline)

Actor – Male

Gerard Logan (Wilde Without the Boy) – AWARD
Jamie Robertson (Treasure Island)
John Martin Stevens (His Letters)

Young Actor

Alex Brown (Lapse) – AWARD
James Chetwood (Blue Remembered Hills)
David Cooper (All My Sons)
Ivan Kelly (Asylum)

New Writing (awarded across categories)

James Beagon (First Class) – AWARD
Rob Johnston (An Extraordinary Light)
Ami Jones (Shrew)
Adrian Marks (Waiting for Gandalf)
Lilly Posnett (After Alice)
Laura-Kate Barrow (Sticky Labels)

Visual Arts


Sea Fever
The Great Dome Art Fair
Dr Sketchy Sheffield Does the Fringe
Grinlow Art and Storytelling Trail 2014 – AWARD


Caroline Small (Square Roots – The Green Man Gallery) – AWARD
Peter Gill and Anna Thomas (Derbyshire Open 2014 – Buxton Museum & Art Gallery)
Ilsa Elford (Grinlow Art and Storytelling Trail 2014 – Local Artists, Makers and Creators)
Laura Critchlow (2014 Art Exhibition – Burbage Art Group)
Claire de Ruiter (Sea Fever – High Peak Artists)

Other Events

An Evening of Close Up & Stage Magic: High Peak Magic Society – AWARD

Spirit of the Fringe

Chapel-en-le-Frith Morris Men (Day of Dance) – AWARD
Scrivener’s Bookshop
Sam Slide

John Beecher Memorial Award

(for original, challenging work with high production values)

The Off-Off-Off Broadway Company (Back Door) – AWARD