2014 Eagle Awards winners

photo-5Derby Theatre was packed with the wealth of talent which makes up the amateur dramatic scene in the city for the Eagle Awards last night.

The audience at the annual awards ceremony, hosted by James Hilton, was treated to some brilliant entertainment from a variety of acts including Hospital Sweep by Pulse Company, the Tiptoe School of Performing Arts, Shakti Arts and the drama Two directed by Daniel David.

Internationally acclaimed singer Dana de Waal received a standing ovation for his amazing performance and there was also a set from Kieran and Sarah of Britain’s Got Talent fame.

The Watson Players and newcomers Streetlight Theatre Company walked off with most of the awards on the night but there were also prizes for The Marlowe Players and Derby Shakespeare Theatre Company.

The winners were: The Jo Davison Award for Best Newcomer: Kat Fenton Avenue Q, Streetlight Theatre Company.

The Timothy Dalton Award for Best Performance in a Play: Jenny Earl as Nurse in Romeo and Juliet, Derby Shakespeare Theatre Company.

The Gwen Taylor Award for Best Performance in a Musical:  Andrew Buxton, as Princeton in Avenue Q, Streetlight Theatre Company.

The Phil Treece Award for Best Performance in a Pantomime: Yvonne Baird in Sleeping Beauty, Watson Players.

The Derby Telegraph Award for the Best Production of a Play: The Marlowe Players, A Piece of Cake.

The Gordon Bewley Award for the Best Production of a Musical: Streetlight Theatre Arts for Avenue Q.

The Malcolm Sircom |Award for the Best Production of a Pantomime, The Watson Players for Sleeping Beauty.

The Brian Glazebrook Award for Outstanding Achievement: The Watson Players for the costumes and set in Sleeping Beauty.

The Ken and Barbara Pipes Award for Exceptional Contribution to amateur theatre was presented to choreographer Pauline Reader who is a member of Good Companions but also involved with many other productions in the city.

Presenters of the awards, which were beautiful eagles exclusively designed by Royal Crown Derby, included: The Vice Chancellor of the University of Derby, John Coyne; journalist, Toby Bradford; Doreen Weaver, who made a donation to the theatre to set up The Brian Weaver Fellowship, in memory of her late husband, plus the recipient of the Fellowship, Adam Horvath; one of Britain’s best-loved actresses, Derbyshire’s own Gwen Taylor; Tony Jaggers from Derby Shakespeare Theatre Company; Ben Spiller from 1623 Theatre Company, Wyn Hinks, Lisa Scott-Savage and actor, blogger and theatre reviewer, Phil Lowe.